Earth Day Climate Strikes 2020

In 2020 Mothers Out Front is prioritizing strengthening our partnership with the Youth Climate Movement. In doing so, we proudly stand with the youth leaders of the global climate strikes and have taken on the role of coordinator of the Parent Constituency group for the events planned for April 22, 23, and 24th. 

We bring a mother’s voice to the table and will help parents around the country show up (virtually) for the strikes and take a leadership role in the climate conversation in the 2020 elections.


From Youth Leaders:

The 50th anniversary of Earth Day is just days away. Instead of having people mobilize in the streets, we’re hosting Earth Day Live, a 3 day live stream featuring stories, conversations, and performances. We are reimagining what a social movement can look like in the digital age, finding new and creative ways to get our message heard.

As of Saturday, April 18, over 21,000 people have RSVP'd to Earth Day Live.

 


Here's an overview of what's happening each day:

  • April 22 — STRIKE: On the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, we will demonstrate our collective power and unity through community building and storytelling. This first day will focus on amplifying the voice of Indigenous leaders and youth climate activists who are leading the movement to halt the climate crisis.
  • April 23 — DIVEST: The world’s largest banks have pumped $1.9 trillion into fossil fuels since the 2015 Paris Agreement. We can’t let fossil fuel companies use the pandemic to loot trillions more when people need relief so desperately. Led by the Stop the Money Pipeline Coalition, April 23rd focuses on the role of money in driving the climate crisis.
  • April 24 — VOTE: We need leaders who will address the existential threat of climate change, and for this to happen, we need people to show up at the polls. Led by the US Youth Strike Coalition, April 24th will focus on the urgency of political change through a nationwide youth voter registration day.

 

QUICK LINKS: Register to view the Earth Day 72 Hour Livestream | Host a livestream event

 


The Parent Constituent Support Group is coordinated by Mothers Out Front. Please contact Marnese Jackson at [email protected] to get involved.

Join the Global #ClimateStrike Parent's Constituency Support Group calls for more information:

All meetings are at the same time:  10a.m. PST/11a.m. MST/12p.m. CST /1:00p.m. EDT. for 90 minutes 


 

Resources

Mothers Out Front National and State Calendars for local events near you:

National

California

Massachusetts

New York

Virginia


 

          BTS_Boxes_Press.png

 

     BTS_Boxes_ESB.png     BTS_Boxes_LTE.png

 

 

 


 

 

                     

 

                      

 

                  

 

 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.